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DWI HISTORY IN NEW YORK

o STOP-DWI or Special Traffic Options Program—
Driving While Intoxicated” Program established
in NY in 1981 by the State Legislature

» Program is a financially self-sustaining impaired
driving program
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STOP -DWI

e PROGRAM COMPONENTS:
— Law Enforcement
— Prosecution
— Probation
— Rehabilitation
— Education and Public Information
— Administration

KEY LEGISLATION

» 1982 — Legal drinking age raised to 19
» 1986 - Legal drinking age raised to 21

» 1988 — Repeat offender administrative license
revocation law implemented

* 1990 — NY State Police begin first toll-free drunk
driver reporting hotline in the US

» 1994 — Administrative license revocation law
expanded to include all alcohol offenders’ driving
privileges suspended pending prosecution
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KEY LEGISLATION

e 1996 — Zero-Tolerance law for underage
youth (0.02 BAC) enacted

e 2003 - 0.08 BAC law enacted

» 2006 — Aggravated DWI law passed for
BAC’s at or above 0.18 BAC and repeat
offenders — penalties strengthened to
include ignition interlock

KEY LEGISLATION

e 2007 — Legislation enacted creating the
crimes of aggravated vehicular assault and
aggravated vehicular homicide

 November 2009 — LEANDRA’S LAW

— Felony for any DWI conviction with a child 16
or under in the vehicle (December 18, 2009)

— Mandatory ignition interlock for a minimum of
6 months for all misdemeanor and felony DWI
convictions (August 15, 2010)




12/7/10

Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

* Metrics--DWI Convictions in New York State

» 2008 Data
— 65,000 arrests for DWI (consistent over years)
— 25,000 convictions (felony and misdemeanor)
— 20,000 violations (DWAI)

—25,000 convictions (felony and misdemeanor)
9,000 (40%) sentenced to probation

16,000 (60%) other dispositions including prison, jail and large
majority pay fine

Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

» Binge Drinking—Nearly one in four high school
students and one in seven adults binge-drink
according to the CDC Director Thomas Freidman

» 428,000 people who responded to two surveys
used to compile the data said they had an average
of eight (8) drinks during a binge drinking session

» CDC found that 15% of adults or 33 million
Americans binge-drink—a constant rate for 15 yrs
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

» Governor David A. Paterson signs Chapter 496 of the
Laws of 2009 :

— Effective December 18, 2009-

— New Class E Felony Offense-Enhanced Penalties for Persons who
Operate a Motor Vehicle while Intoxicated with a Child passenger
under 16 years of age, with penalty of up to 4 years in state prison

— Also enhances penalties for driving while intoxicated and causing
the death or serious injury to any child (ren) passenger under 16
years of age. Operators convicted of Aggravated Vehicular
Assault (Class C Felony) and Aggravated Vehicular Homicide
(Class B Felony) offenses are subject to state imprisonment up to
15 and 25 years imprisonment, respectively.
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

— Effective August 15, 2010

 Requires that persons convicted of having committed VTL
Section 1192 Misdemeanor or Felony DWI Offenses, on or
after the date of enactment, (November 18, 2009 ) and
sentenced on or after August 15, 2010, be sentenced to a term
of probation or conditional discharge, in addition to any
sentence of imprisonment or payment of any fine imposed, and
have an Ignition Interlock Device installed in any motor
vehicle they “own or operate” . Law requires that the I1D be
installed for a minimum of six months.
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

— New York State joins 9 other states as “first offender states”
requiring mandatory use of Ignition Interlock Devices

— Alcohol Ignition Interlocks are a proven tool to effectively
reduce impaired driving, protect the public and support long-term
risk reduction among drunk drivers—Numerous Studies
including those by The Traffic Injury Research Foundation,
February 2010

— Research indicates that offender behavior reverts when the 11D is
removed—Ilonger periods of time for I1D

- Encourage Court ordered conditions for use of ignition interlock
devices for longer periods of time
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

 Statute requires OPCA to promulgate regulations and
address “unaffordability” (270-day timeframe)

Chapter 496 Section 5

(a) The cost of installing and maintaining the ignition interlock

device shall be borne by the person subject to such condition unless the
court determines such person is financially unable to afford such cost
whereupon such cost may be imposed pursuant to a payment plan or waived.
In the event of such waiver, the cost of the device shall be borne in
accordance with regulations issued under paragraph (g) of subdivision
one of section eleven hundred ninety-three of this article or pursuant

to such other agreement as may be entered into for provision of the device.
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

— Establish statewide workgroup

— Plan and conduct manufacturer roundtable

— Promulgate emergency regulations; formal rulemaking
— Request for Applications—open and continuous

— *Require county planning process/define stakeholders
— Develop statewide uniform templates/forms

— Implement statewide training of judiciary, prosecutors
and law enforcement

— Establish media campaign and press conference
— Select Agency with strong leadership
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

Who are the statewide stakeholders? Working Group?
Governor, Legislature, Judiciary
Counties/Agencies—Probation, STOP-DW!I, DDP, TASC, etc.
Prosecutors and Defense Counsel

Law Enforcement-NY SP, Sheriffs, Police

Statewide Associations—NYSAC, STOP-DW!I Coordinators,
NYS Drinking Driver Programs, Traffic Safety Programs

State Agencies—Governor’s Counsel, DOH, DMV, OGS, OSC,
OAG, OASAS, DCJS, Parole, DOCS, DOB

ITSMR-Institute for Traffic Safety Management and Research
Ignition Interlock Device Manufacturers
Motor Vehicle Operators and the Public
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mplementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

County Planning Process--regulations require counties to
submit implementation plans by June 15, 2010

Define required local/county stakeholders in county plan application
Designate monitoring agency for CD cases (default is probation)

Acknowledge agreement with statewide regulations: monitoring agencies for
CD cases to determine Class of Instrument; probation to determine Class and
features; and operators to select model and manufacturer of 11D

Procedure for equitable distribution of “waived” 11D units

Procedure for distribution of any available funding to support monitoring
Court notification to monitoring agencies within 5 business days

Procedure for advanced notification of operators released from incarceration
Procedure for monitors to report failed tasks/tests/lockouts to DA and Courts
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

» Request for Manufacturer Applications

Compliance with DPCA and Department of Health Regulations
(DPCA regulations , 9 NYCRR Part 358 include 11D
Specifications)

Service 1-4 regions within NYS—regional approach attracts
multiple vendors and new vendors, ensuring a quality product
and service at a competitive price (affordability)

Classify ignition interlock devices into 3 categories

Establish initial fee structure ceiling —competition drives pricing

Enter into multi-year (3-year) agreements with manufacturers

Obligate manufacturers to provide Court ordered “payment plans”
or IID’s to operators deemed unable to afford them —assume
10% statewide “unaffordability” rate (not legal indigency)

17

Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York S

* Multiple Manufacturers to serve 25,000 offenders

— NYS divided into four (4) regions (consistent with COPA regions)
to ensure that the service is available in all localities.

— Manufacturers may seek to be “qualified” to do business in 1,2, 3
or all 4 regions; must meet DPCA, DOH regulations and the 50-
mile service requirement---this spurs competition

— Importantly, State Regulations provide that Operators will
shop manufacturer (model) but probation and monitoring
agencies will determine the class of ignition interlock device
and probation will determine class and features
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

11D classified into three (3) distinct classes:

CLASS I: This CLASS contains the following features:

— Meets all New York State Department of Health and National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration Regulations and
Standards, Utilizes fuel cell technology,

Reporting capabilities, Capabilities for storage of data, Programmable Re-Test
Sequences, Data download, inspection and re-calibration service, and

Anti-tampering and anti-circumvention features.
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

CLASS II: This CLASS has all the features of CLASS | and contains the
following additional features:

Photographic positive identification capability (camera or biometric facial
recognition).

CLASS IlI: This CLASS has all the features of CLASSES I and Il and
contains one or more of the following additional features:

GPS location of vehicle capability, Real time data reporting, Infra-red or other
low-light camera capability for night use, Hum Tone Detection, Infra-red
sensor that detects heat and proximity to verify human breath, Keys enabling
service codes to be entered, Early recall system if a fuel cell fails-uses split cell
technology, Restricted drive time capabilities, Unlock code to minimize
towing due to lockouts, Voice instruction, Probation/Judicial Internet Access
for Real-Time Monitoring 24/7, 911 Emergency Response, target tracking,
subject must be in photo to take test.
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

DPCA Regulations require manufacturer 11D specifications:
« |ID set point of .025% BAC
e Start-Up Test: if failure--a Start-Up Retest within 5-15 minutes (continues)

e Start-Up Test: if successful--Initial Rolling Test within a random variable
interval ranging from 5-15 mins. If Rolling Test successful: subsequent Rolling
Tests at random intervals not to exceed 30 mins. If unsuccessful (failed or
missed Rolling Test): Rolling Retest promptly within 1-3 minutes. Failed or
missed Rolling Retest causes vehicle horn to sound & and 11D to emit high pitch
shrill prompting operator to pull over and shut off vehicle.

» 1ID lockout mode: one failed or missed “start-up retest”, one failed or missed
“rolling retest” within one service period, or one missed service visit. Operator
must return to service center for data download and I1D reset within 5 business
days or the motor vehicle becomes inoperable (will not start)

e All events, including failed start-up tests, failed rolling tests are recorded and
reported to monitors. Lockout mode: monitors must report to DA and Court
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

DPCA Regulations requirements for monitoring:

* Monitor shall receive court notification of order for 11D within 5 business days

» Installation/service provider shall install within 7 business days of request—
Operators required to have 11D installed w/in 10 business days of Court Order

» Operator shall provide proof of installation within 3 business days to Court,
County Probation Department and any designated monitor

» Operator shall submit to service visits within 30 calendar days. For detachable
handheld units, submit to 30-day visits, followed by 60-day visits

* **Monitor shall notify the appropriate court and district attorney, within 3
business days of following: 1) operator failure to install IDD, 2) operator
has not complied with required service visit, 3) any report of alleged
tampering or circumvention of IDD, or 4) any report of lockout mode,
and/or any report of a failed test or retest where BAC is .05% or higher
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

» Nassau County seeing actual installation rates of 1ID’s 28%

» For Condition Discharge Cases (AIM) over 20% never make it
probation

» Onondaga County (Syracuse): Since August 15, 2010, 95 operators
sentenced under Leandra’s Law and 4 Ignition Interlock Devices
Installed

» Offenders are reporting to probation and stating they no longer own or
operate motor vehicles—probation must report back to the Court

Advise the Defendant of VTL 1198 (4) —Class A Misdemeanor to
operate a motor vehicle that is not so equipped with an I1D.

Consider other monitoring devices (i.e. SCRAM)
Legislative Action Required? Demonstrated period of operation w/ 11D
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

» “Unaffordability” v. Indigency

— OPCA develops statewide Financial Disclosure Report available at
(English and Spanish Versions)

— Operator /Applicant required to complete/submit 3 copies to court

— FDR Form captures offender’s income, assets and expenses,
including monthly service for cell phone, cable/satellite television

— Progression of Cost Considerations: Affordability>>>>
Payment Plan>>>> Waiver Considerations

— Manufacturers agreements with NYS-OPCA assume a maximum of
10% statewide rate of “unaffordability” before renegotiation is
considered—discuss experiences in other states
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

* Monitoring and Offender Accountability —Touchstone of
Effective Ignition Interlock Programs --Harm Reduction
 Impact on Localities for Monitoring and Supervision

» OPCA applies to NYS Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee
(GTSC) and receives $3 million in NHTSA funds

 Start Date 10/1/10

* NHTSA funds to be distributed to localities based on number
of convictions where 11D is ordered and installed

e Grant term: 1, 2010-Sept. 30, 2011
* Federal Funds regarded as seed money and not sustaining
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

» Thank you. Questions and Answers?

e Contact Information:

— Robert M. Maccarone
Deputy Commissioner and Director
NYS Division of Criminal Justice Services
Office of Probation and Correctional Alternatives
(518) 485-7692
Robert.Maccarone@dcjs.state.ny.us
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